Recommended Resources - Ms. Lyon | Modern World: Stories from Africa Project

ProQuest eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 1000,000 university and academic press books on all subjects. You can read the entire book, print and download section, annotate, and save.

South Africa and Mandela | Stanford Libraries
Contain links to primary sources and first hand accounts related to Nelson Mandela and his work
South Africa: Pre- and Post Apartheid | St. Albans Secondary College
Provides primary source and background information on Mandela, Apartheid and Steve Biko
Blood Diamonds | Time Magazine
Provides both secondary and primary accounts of the topic
JSTOR Open Access Book: The Lion that Didn't Roar: Can the Kimberley Process Stop the Blood Diamonds Trade?
Access to an eBook by Nigel Davidson containing both secondary narrative and primary sources
JSTOR Journal Article - Fela's Foundation: Examining the Revolutionary Songs of Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti and the Abeokuta Market Women's Movement in 1940s Western Nigeria
Provides both secondary and primary accounts of Funmilayo Women's Movement in Nigeria in the 1940s
State of the Climate in Africa 2019 | World Meteorological Organization
Report that provides data about climate change in Africa
GALE Academic OneFile Journal Article - Going Global: the NBA sets its sights on Africa
Secondary Source article that includes quotes from individual involved and a list of sources the author used that lists additional primary source documents & reports
PBS - Global Connections Liberia
Provides overview of the history of Liberia with links to additional sources listed at the end of the article for additional information

Primary sources

Newspaper articles

Reports

Government documents

Letters

Diaries

Speeches

Video footage

Audio

Photographs

Statistics/Data

Interviews

Printed materials published
at the time of an event

First-Person/Eye-Witness Accounts

Oral History interviews

Diaries

Letters

Photographs

Court testimony

Voices of those who experienced the event

Those who witnessed the Event

World History in Context | GALE This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles, biographical information and new articles about major historical events and people across the globe
Biography in Context | GALE This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context provides information about historically significant figures in history. Includes reference articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.

she/her/hers

Email Me