Helpful Databases
-
AllSides This link opens in a new window
Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant. -
Popular Magazines | GALE This link opens in a new window
Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries." -
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. -
Communications and Mass Media | GALE This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Books From the Collection
-
Black Enough
by
ISBN: 9780062698728Publication Date: 2019-01-08Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today--Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it's like to be young and Black in America. -
The Pregnancy Project
by
ISBN: 1442446226Publication Date: 2012-01-17When high school senior Gaby faked a pregnancy as a project to challenge stereotypes, she also changed her life. Discover this compelling memoir from an inspirational teenage activist, now a Lifetime movie. It started as a school project, but it turned into so much more. -
#HashtagActivism
by
ISBN: 9780262356503Publication Date: 2020-02-14The power of hashtag activism became clear in 2011, when #IranElection served as an organizing tool for Iranians protesting a disputed election and offered a global audience a front-row seat to a nascent revolution. Since then, activists have used a variety of hashtags, including #JusticeForTrayvon, #BlackLivesMatter, #YesAllWomen, and #MeToo to advocate, mobilize, and communicate.
