Skip to main content

Veracross

Gradebook

Overview

There is a lot of data that goes into managing assignments and scores for every student across an entire term and school year. The Gradebook provides teachers with a robust way of managing this data by simplifying the assignment workflow, increasing flexibility with displaying Teacher Portal Gradebookassignments to parents and students, facilitating communication between students, parents, and more. It enables teachers to increase productivity by giving them more visibility and control over assignment management.
 

Gradebook Assignment Detail

The assignment detail window provides teachers with a detailed look at a specific assignment. It summarizes information about the assignment, student scores, and feedback as well as provides summary graphs and reports of overall student performance on the assignment.

Assignment Overview

The Assignment detail window consolidates the assignment detail and student score detail into a single window. Assignment resources can also be attached directly from this window.

  • Assignment Details
    Enter a description, chose the assignment type, add an assignment description, and set start and due dates. This will provide the assignment summary information visible in the Teacher’s planner, on the lesson calendar, and in the Parent/Student’s assignment planner.
  • Display on Portals
    Teachers decide when to display the assignment to parents and students.
  • Maximum Score & Weight
    Assign the maximum score and weight for the assignment.
  • Include in Calc. Grade
    Teachers can choose whether grades for the assignment should be included in to the calculated grade.
  • Extra Credit
    Teachers can indicate the assignment is for extra credit and scores from the assignment will be added in to the calculated grade.
  • Applies to All Sections
    Teachers can copy the assignment to all class sections as long as the instructor and the course is the same for all sections.

Assignment Scores Detail

The detail for an individual student assignment score is integrated with the assignment detail. This tab allows teachers to manage dropbox submissions, private notes, student feedback, scoring, and assignment notifications per student.

  • Dropbox
    Teachers can open the dropbox per student by clicking the “Expecting” button or open for all students by clicking the “Dropbox” > “Open Dropboxes” buttons. When students submit materials their submission status will be set to received and the submission will be available below the “Feedback for Student” section.
  • Private Note
    Teachers can write notes for themselves about a student’s performance on a particular assignment. This note is private and will not be displayed to parents and students.
  • Student Feedback
    Teachers can send students feedback on their assignments. Feedback notes display on the Class tab in both the student and parent portals.
  • Notification Emails
    Teachers can send email notifications to students, parents, advisors, and/or homeroom teachers. Clicking a notification button will send the email immediately. There are two different email templates used for assignment notifications. The parents and students’ email provides a summary of the assignment and a link to the Assignment detail in their portals. The advisor and homeroom teachers’ email provides a summary of the assignment.

Assignment Graphs

Student Assignment Scores

Plot the scores for each student as an area chart.

  • The larger the area, and the flatter the line, that means the scores were all the same.
  • If there is a steep slope to the curve, this means that there was a significant difference between the high and low scores for the assignment.

Assignment Score vs. PTD Grade

A scatter plot which compares each student’s individual assignment score against their current calculated grade.

  • The red lines on the chart represent the average calculated grade in the class and the average assignment score.
  • Students in the upper right quadrant have a higher than average calculated grade and did better than the average on this assignment.
  • Students in the lower right quadrant have a higher than average calculated grade, but did worse than the average on this assignment.
  • Students in the lower left quadrant have a lower than average calculated grade and did worse than the average on this assignment.
  • Students in the upper left quadrant have a lower than average calculated grade, but did better than the average on this assignment.

Gradebook Assignment List View

Multiple Views

  • View list of assignments grouped and sorted by week.
  • View list of assignments grouped by assignment type.
  • Filter based on assignment types.

Star Assignments

  • Star individual assignments to keep them at a glance.
  • Stars don’t have any explicit, system meaning; teachers can use them for whatever purpose they choose.
  • Stars are not displayed to parents and students; they are private and just for the teacher.

Manual Assignment Display & Score Publishing

Manual Display Assignments

Teachers may decide when to display assignments for parents and students.

  • Displaying an assignment is accomplished by changing the status of the assignment from “Not Displayed” to “Displayed”. This can be done from anywhere assignments are available in the Teacher Portal.
  • Once scores have been given for an assignment, it is not possible to hide it from parents and students.

Manual Score Publishing

Teachers may decide when to publish assignment scores for parents and students.

  • Manual Score publishing only affects the actual Raw Score. The completion status is not controlled by the score publish control. This is primarily because teachers do want to communicate that an assignment was late before they publish the actual scores for the assignment.

Display Options

The ‘Display Options’ window includes options for filtering and sorting the Gradebook. These display options work across both the “scores” and “assignments” tab in the Gradebook.

  • Toggle the Score Display Type from displaying raw scores or percentage scores.
  • Filter assignments based on assignment type.
  • Sort by due dates or assignment types.
  • Change sorting/grouping of assignments on the “Assignments” tab.

The Gradebook provides a summary of score and assignment details for all the teacher’s students per class. The assignments are listed across the top of the gradebook in date order and each row represents a particular student. Within each cell teachers can track and view assignment and score details specific to the student and assignment. A number of badges are used to help teachers quickly identify the student’s progress with the assignment, feedback/notification information, dropbox submissions, and more.

To learn more information about managing assignments using the Gradebook, click here.

Gradebook

Legend

The following is a legend of all badges used in the gradebook to indicate to teachers the information each assignment contains per student.

Badges
Description
Completion Statuses  
- - Pending
Checkmark Turned In/Not Graded
LTE Late
NTI Not Turned In
INC Incomplete
NREQ Not Required to Complete
NC No Credit (zero)
Scores  
97 Raw score (black score)
44 Percent grade is less than the minimum passing grade (red score)
UnpublishedScore Score not published
Notifications  
Contains Feedback (see footnote 1 below)
! Notifications to Students, Parents, Advisor, or Homeroom sent
Contains Private Teacher Note
Dropbox  
Gradebook Dropbox Expecting Expecting Dropbox Submission
Received Dropbox Submission Dropbox Submission Received (see footnote 2 below)


 

Footnotes

1. The conversation bubble appears any time that some conversation has taken place between teacher and student about this assignment; and the action of uploading a file is part of the conversation.

2. Although similar, this is different from the “Contains Feedback” conversation bubble, because the dropbox can be set to “Expecting” (orange flag) and the student can submit work (green flag) multiple times. In contrast, the existence of any feedback at all will set the “Contains Feedback” conversation bubble.

Overview

There are a number of possible steps involved in the lifecycle of a typical assignment.  Bellow are links to two examples of possible workflows of a single assignment.

  • Assignment Workflow: Basic
    The Basic version of the assignment workflow is the minimum steps a teacher must follow to create and grade assignments.
  • Assignment Workflow: Comprehensive
    The Comprehensive version of the assignment workflow includes all possible steps a teacher could follow to create and grade assignments.

This article describes the comprehensive set of activities for a single assignment.  Different schools and different teachers may only use certain subsets of this workflow. Additional assignment setup options such as extra credit are included at the end of the article.

Summary

  1. Add a new assignment
  2. Attach files to the assignment
  3. Display the assignment for parents & students (required)
  4. Open the dropbox for all students (optional)
  5. Receive dropbox submissions from students (optional)
  6. Mark assignments as “Turned In” or “Late” (required)
  7. Enter private notes about student assignments
  8. Assign scores for students
  9. Send assignment feedback
  10. Close all assignment dropboxes (optional)
  11. Publish Scores for students and parents (optional)
  12. Send notifications to parents or advisor (optional)

1. Add a new assignment

  • Click “Add Assignment”
  • Ensure that the dates are between the start and end dates of the class and between a valid grading period
  • Enter a description of the assignment in the “Assignment Detail” field.” This will appear below the assignment date information in the Assignment section in the Student and Parent portal.
  • Note: “Description” has a 100 character maximum length. “Assignment Details” has a 1000 character maximum length.

 
 

2. Attach files to the assignment

  • Click “Select from Library”
  • This will open a Resource Library dialog and allow a teacher to select multiple files from their Library to attach to this assignment.

 
 
 
 

3. Display the assignment for parents & students

  • By default, assignments are not displayed on the Parent and Student Portal
  • Teachers may decide when assignments show up for parents and students


 
 
 

4. Open the Dropbox for all students (optional)

  • It is possible for a teacher to accept online submissions from students via the assignment dropbox, provided that the Class Configuration Setting for ‘Assignment Dropbox Method’ has been set to ‘Enabled’ by an Administrator. The default is ‘Disabled’
  • Go to the “Student Scores” tab on the Assignment Detail Window
  • Click “Dropbox” and then “Open all dropboxes”
  • The orange triangle indicates that the teacher is still expecting to receive a submission from the student

 

5. Receive dropbox submissions from students (optional)

  • When a student submits a file for that assignment, the dropbox status will change to “Received” and the triangle badge will change to green.

 
 
 
 

6. Mark assignments as “Turned In” or “Late”

  • Veracross does not automatically change a student’s grade
  • Teachers are in control of what official completion status to assign to each student
  • Typically, a teacher will batch update all student scores to “Turned In” to confirm they have received the student’s work

 
 

7. Enter private notes about student assignments

  • Teachers may enter private notes about a student’s performance on an assignment
  • Private notes are not ever visible by parents or students

 
 
 
 

8. Assign scores for students

  • Teachers may enter scores for students in the Gradebook grid or in the Assignment Detail Window on the “Student Scores” tab

 
 
 
 

9. Send assignment feedback

  • Teachers may choose to send students a comment about their assignment
  • Teachers may send multiple feedback comments to students

 
 
 
 

10. Close all assignment dropboxes (optional)

  • When the assignment is complete, the Teacher may close the dropbox to prevent further submissions
  • Go to the “Student Scores” tab of the Assignment Detail window
  • Click “Dropbox” and choose “Close all dropboxes”

 

11. Publish Scores for students and parents (optional)

  • By default, raw scores are displayed automatically on the Parent and Student Portal
  • Optionally, teachers may decide they want more granular control over when raw scores are made available to parents and students. If this is desired, an Administrator must Change the Class Configuration Option called “Assignment Score Publishing Method” to “Manual”
  • This setting only affects the raw scores.  Completion Statuses are always displayed immediately.
  • Unpublished scores will have a black circle around them in the Gradebook
  • Unpublished raw scores do not factor in to the calculated grade and are not available on the grade detail report
  • When the teacher is ready to make raw scores visible to Parents and Students, go to the “Student Scores” tab on the Assignment Detail window
  • Choose “Publish” and then “Publish All”

12. Send notifications to students, parents, or advisors (optional)

  • Teachers may choose to notify students, parents, advisors or homeroom teachers about an assignment.
  • Selecting any of the system email notification buttons will immediately send an email to the corresponding constituent.
  • The email sent to students and parents will include a link to their portal which will direct them straight to the assignment detail window.

 
 

Additional Assignment Setup Options

In addition to the above basic and comprehensive setup outline there are a few additional options that may be configured for each assignment on the “General” tab of the Assignment detail screen. These options allow the teacher to define how the assignment functions in the Gradebook and in relation to other sections of the same course.

Include in Calc. Grade

Teachers can decide per assignment whether they would like the grades students receive to be factored into the calculated grade for the class. Use the YES/NO toggle button to include or exclude the assignment from the calculated grade.

Extra Credit

Assignments may be specified as “Extra Credit.” When the YES/NO Extra Credit toggle button is set to “YES,” the grade received for this assignment will be added in to the calculated grade. The assignment status for all students enrolled in the class will update to “Not Required to Complete.” Learn more about the three options for adding Extra Credit in Veracross.

Applies to All Sections

For teachers that instruct multiple sections of the same course, assignments may be shared across all course sections using the “Applies to All Sections” toggle button. When this button is set to “YES,” all fields on Assignment detail screen will apply to each section of the course, including any files that are added or removed from the assignment. The exceptions to this are:

  • Assignment Start Date
  • Assignment Due Date
  • Extra Credit

These fields maintain their original information when the assignment was created unless manually changed in each copy of the assignment across each section.

Note: Applies to All Sections will only work for Teachers specified in the class Teacher field, not additional teachers added on the class permission page.

Overview

The Veracross Assignment Dropbox allows students to submit their assignment work digitally from the Student Portal. If a class is configured to have the dropbox “enabled” (read more about configuration options here) the dropbox can be used by students to upload assignments and submit feedback for an assignment. Student assignment submissions are received and tracked directly in the Gradebook. Teachers can preview the file and provide students with feedback about their submission. In addition, the Assignment Dropbox can be integrated with Google Apps allowing students to submit work from their Google Drive.

Dropbox Submissions

Submission Workflow

Assignments are based around a special dropbox submission workflow. Each student assignment dropbox can be in one of three different states: Closed, Expecting, Received.

CLOSED means that submissions are no longer allowed for this student on this assignment.

EXPECTING means that the dropbox is open and the student is allowed to submit files & comments for this assignment. It also means that the teacher has not received a file yet for this student. The submission status of expecting is communicated throughout the teacher portal using an orange triangle in the lower left hand corner of a cell.

RECEIVED means that the student has submitted one or more files for this assignment. Students may continue to submit files even when the dropbox status is “received”. The submissions status of received is communicated throughout the teacher portal using a green triangle in the lower left hand corner of a cell.

Assignment Dropboxes can be managed on a per student basis but also in batch for all students.

View Dropbox Submissions

When a student submits a file for an assignment, the submission is entered as an entry in the feedback conversation between the teacher and the student. (See Feedback section below) Students may submit files as long as their dropbox status is “Expecting” or “Received”. Each time the student submits the assignment, it is recorded as a separate submission entry in the Feedback conversation. The submission is stamped with the date and time when the student clicked “submit”.

Multiple Submissions

The teacher may decide to request another submission from the student. This can be done informally by leaving the dropbox open and asking the student to resubmit their work. Resubmission can also be done in a more formal way. The teacher can change the Submission Status back to “Expecting”. This will indicate to the student that they are expected to do something additional with this assignment. Once they resubmit files for that assignment, the status will again be changed to “Received”. This can go on as many times as the teacher would like. Remember, because the dropbox can be managed on a per student basis, it is possible for different students to have different expectations from the teacher. When the teacher would like to stop further submissions from students, they may close the dropboxes for one or all students.

Late Submissions

Veracross will not automatically change the score or completion status for student assignments. It is up to the teacher to decide whether a student’s submission is officially “late” or not. The Gradebook will indicate to a teacher that a student still has an “expecting” submission after a due date, but that information is just to help the teacher decide how she would like to formally evaluate the assignment for that student.

Students are allowed to submit files for an assignment as long as the dropbox submission status for that student is “Expecting” or “Received”. The due date will not prevent further student submissions after it has passed. It is at the teacher’s discretion to stop allowing submissions from students on a particular assignment at any time.

Student Portal Submissions Process

Students are able to submit files (with a max size of 25MB) for their assignments from three different contexts within the student portal.

Student Submission Contexts

  • From the Student Homepage
  • From the Class Tab

Submission Window

 

  • Select Assignment (optional)
  • Select File

Feedback About Scores and Submissions

Feedback

Teachers may choose to send feedback to a student about their performance on a particular assignment. The feedback conversation is a back and forth between the student and the teacher. Teachers may send feedback to students at any time. Students are only able to send feedback to teachers when they submit their work to the dropbox. Once their file is submitted, the feedback conversation returns to teacher feedback only.

Teachers may also send email notifications to students by selecting the “Notify Students” button. Clicking this button will send the notification immediately.

Feedback Notifications for Students, Parents, Advisors, & Homeroom

Teachers may choose to send assignment notifications to students, parents, advisors, and homeroom teachers in addition to the student.

  • Notify Students
    Clicking the “Notify Students” button will immediately send an email to the student, providing a summary of the assignment and a link to the assignment detail in their portal. The link will bring them straight to the assignment detail on the Classes tab.
  • Notify Parents
    Clicking the “Notify Parents” button will immediately send an email to the student’s parents providing a summary of the assignment and a link to the assignment detail in their portal. The link will bring them straight to the assignment detail on the Classes tab for that student. If a teacher enters feedback for students, parents will also be able to view the note in their portal.
  • Notify Advisor
    Clicking the “Notify Advisor” button will immediately send an email to the student’s advisor. This email provides a summary of the assignment details.
  • Notify Homeroom
    Clicking the “Notify Homeroom” button will immediately send an email to the student’s homeroom teacher. This email provides a summary of the assignment details.

Google Doc Integration (optional)

If a school uses Google Apps for managing documents and files, Veracross will be able to be configured to integrate with Google Drive.

Integration Workflow

  • After the official launch, contact an Account Manager to request that Veracross enable Google Apps integration for the school.
  • After integration is configured, students and teachers will be asked to authenticate their Google account upon their next login. This is a one time process.
  • A Google Authentication window will open and redirect the student or teacher to Google where they can grant Veracross access to their Google drive.
  • After a student or teacher has authenticated their Google account, then they will be able to select files from their Google drive during assignment submission or teacher feedback.

Learn more about integrating Veracross Dropbox with Google Drive.

Overview

For schools whose students use Google Drive to create and manage documents, it is possible to integrate Veracross Dropbox with Google Drive. Once a student links their Google account with their Veracross account, they will be able to submit files directly from their Google Drive as well as their computer.

Admin Setup

To set up Google Drive integration with the Veracross Dropbox:

  1. Run the ‘Student Accounts’ query located under the User Accounts section on the System homepage.
  2. Switch the ‘Google Authentication Status’ to “Pending” for each student whose Google Drive will be integrated with Veracross Dropbox.
  3. Update.
  4. After students complete the authentication process (see below), their ‘Google Authentication Status’ will change to “Complete” and the date/time of authentication will update.

Student Authentication

Once the ‘Google Authentication Status’ has been switched to pending, students must link their Google Drive with the Veracross Dropbox. They can do this directly from their Student Portals.
 
 
When students log in to their Student Portal a message at the top of the screen will alert them that they need to grant Veracross access to their Google Drive. Students will need to follow the prompts to link their Google Drive with Veracross.

Note: Students will only need to complete this process once.

 
 

Google Dropbox Widget

Before students can submit a file for an assignment, the teacher must enable the dropbox for that particular assignment. To learn more about how to enable the dropbox for assignments, click here.

Once the dropbox has been opened by the teacher, students will be able to submit files to the assignment from the Class Enrollment Detail page. To learn more about Student Dropbox submissions, click here.

Students can upload files for the assignment from their Google Drive or from their computers using the Google Dropbox Widget from the submission wizard. “Native” Google Drive formats, such as Google docs or spreadsheets, will be converted automatically to PDFs when submitted to the Veracross Dropbox. Files are converted automatically to PDFs to ensure they can be opened from a teacher’s portal.

File Submission

In order for a file to upload successfully to the Veracross Dropbox, the file name cannot contain non-standard characters such as umlauts or /. Similarly, emojis ( e.g. :smile: ) cannot be included in the ‘Comments’ section on a file submission.

Removing a Veracross Account from a Student’s Google Account

If desired, the link between a student’s Veracross Account and their Google Account can be removed.

The student must be logged in to their Google Account to remove the Veracross Account connection:

  1. Click on the account avatar in the upper right corner.
  2. Select the ‘Account’ link on the window that appears.
  3. Select the ‘Security’ link in the left-hand column.
  4. Select the ‘Review permissions’ link next to ‘Connected Applications and Sites.’
  5. Find the Veracross permission (Veracross – Drive API, By file Drive API, Profile Information). Click ‘Revoke Access.’
  6. The ‘Google Authentication Status’ dropdown for each student who has removed their Veracross Account from their Google Account will need to be switched back to either “N/A” or “Pending” in Veracross. If the status is switched back to “Pending,” when the student logs back in to Veracross, the authentication process will repeat (see the Student Authentication section).