Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Topics in World History: Search Our Databases & Catalog

Start Here

What's wrong with using Google for research? Google is a great place to ask questions; it will give you answers on just about anything. The problem with using it for research is that it includes everything in the search results and doesn't verify the accuracy of the results. Academic research requires academic (or scholarly) sources - articles written by experts in the field. You will find reliable, authoritative sources in our databases. Once you learn how to 'talk' to a database, you'll find the information you need to complete any assignment.

World History Databases

    Best Bets

Get Connected @ the Geier Library

   

     

 

 

    Search our Databases 

     

            
      Limit Your Results
       
             

Find:

     Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series

 
Advanced Search

Big Six Steps to Successful Research

1. Task Definition

* Define your assignment & identify information needed to complete it.
* Restate the assignment in your own words. What are you interested in?

* Gather basic information about your topic by reading articles, web pages 

* Talking with teachers/parents/librarians is also helpful.

2. Finding Information

* Make a list of all possible sources & select the best ones.
* Use a variety of sources: choose from nonfiction, news articles, reference books, web pages, databases, directories and multimedia encyclopedias.

 

3. Location and Access

* Locate sources & find information within the texts.
 

4. Use of Information

* Read, hear, view & extract the most valuable information
* Skimming and scanning to find information that addresses your topic.

* Look for key words, pictures, read headlines and first and last paragraphs.
* Take notes & cite your sources.

 

5. Synthesis

* Choose the format of your project and organize your research notes.
* I
f your format is a paper, begin by writing an outline.

6. Evaluation

* Judge the product and the process.
* Use 
a rubric if you have one. Did you meet the objectives?