Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Here | Look for Facts
Academic research requires academic (or scholarly) sources - articles written by experts in the field. You will find reliable, authoritative sources in our databases. Once you learn how to 'talk' to a database, you'll find the information you need to complete any assignment. Start your research by gathering background information. At this point in your research, you're looking for facts, not opinions. General and subject encyclopedias and subject databases are the best place to start.
African-American History Online | Infobase This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 500 years of the African-American experience; explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the in-depth timelines. An important feature is the full cross-searchability across all the Infobase history databases for an even more comprehensive view of history.
American History | ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures and provides context for the evolution of political frameworks, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America's history.
The African-American Experience | Infobase This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
Milestone Documents in African American History | Salem This link opens in a new window
Chronologically arranged documents portray the story of African Americans from the introduction of slavery in the 1600s to the inauguration of President Barack Obama. The 125 signed entries, which have been prepared by experts in history and law, include correspondence, essays, reports, tracts, manifestos, petitions, proclamations, legal opinions, legislation, military orders, narratives, presidential and executive documents, speeches and addresses, and testimony. In addition to document text, each entry includes context, a time line, a biographical profile, explanation and analysis, intended audience, impact, quotes, and more.
U.S. History in Context | GALE This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
Get Connected @ the Geier Library