Helpful Databases
-
Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
ANALYSIS. Peer-reviewed full-text scholarly articles across the academic disciplines. -
African-American History Online | Infobase This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 500 years of the African-American experience. Includes key figures and events; speeches, primary sources and in-depth timelines. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ANALYSIS. Provides an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. -
JSTOR | Africa This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.
-
ProQuest Academic This link opens in a new window
ANALYSIS. Includes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
Books From the Collection
-
Ancient African Kingdoms
by
ISBN: 9781647489243Publication Date: 2020-09-19If you want to discover the captivating history of ancient Africa and the Kingdom of Kush, then keep reading... Two captivating manuscripts in one book: Ancient Africa: A Captivating Guide to Civilizations of Ancient Africa, Such as the Land of Punt, Carthage, the Kingdom of Aksum, the Mali Empire and The Kingdom of Kush. -
Born in Blackness
by
ISBN: 9781631495823Publication Date: 2021-10-12In a sweeping narrative spanning more than six centuries, Born in Blackness vitally reframes the story of medieval and emerging Africa, demonstrating how the economic ascendancy of Europe, the anchoring of democracy in the West, and the fulfillment of so-called Enlightenment ideals all grew out of Europe's dehumanizing engagement with the "dark" continent. -
Great Kingdoms of Africa
by
ISBN: 9780520395671Publication Date: 2023-03-21A groundbreaking, sweeping overview of the great kingdoms in African history and their legacies, written by world-leading experts. This is the first book for nonspecialists to explore the great precolonial kingdoms of Africa that have been marginalized throughout history. -
The Royal Kingdoms of Ghana, Mali, and Songhay
by
ISBN: 0805042598Publication Date: 1995-10-15For more than a thousand years, from A.D. 500 to 1700, the medieval kingdoms of Ghana, Mali, and Songhay grew rich on the gold, salt, and slave trade that stretched across Africa. -
The Ancient World
by
ISBN: 9780765680822Publication Date: 2008-03-15Designed to meet the curriculum needs of students from grades 7-12, this five-volume encyclopedia explores the history and civilizations of the ancient world from prehistory to approximately 1000 CE.
