|
Recommended Books, eBooks & Reference Databases |
Possible Search Terms
1. Myanmar coup and Aung San Suu Kyi in 2021
Search Terms: "Myanmar Coup" and "Aung Suu Kyi" (be sure to focus on 2021)
Strategy: There are several ebooks on the topic in ProQuest Ebook Central
Strategy: Use Biography in Context for information about "Aung Suu Kyi"
___________________________________________________________________________________
2. Tibet - what is its status within China and why can’t the Dalai Lama reside there?
Search Terms: China and Tibet or "Dalai Lama" and China and Tibet
Strategy: Use Biography in Context for "Dalai Lama" and World History in Context for historical context of Tibet and China relationship
Strategy: There are several ebooks on the topic in ProQuest Ebook Central
___________________________________________________________________________________
3 China’s Belt and Road initiative
Search Terms: "China's belt and Road Initiative"
Strategy: There are several eBooks on the topic in ProQuest Ebook Central
____________________________________________________________________________________
4. The Uighur minority group in China
Search Terms: (note: often spelled Uyghur): "Uyghur Oppression in China" or Uighur and China
Strategy: A good starting point for this topic is in Global Issues in Context using search term "Uyghur Oppression in China"
Strategy: There is a good ebook in the ProQuest EBook Central database. Use the search term "China's minorities"
_____________________________________________________________________________________
5. Climate change as it affects Vietnam and Thailand
Search Terms: "Southeast Asia" and "Climate Change" or "Climate Change" and "Vietnam" and "Climate Change" and "Thailand" separately
Strategy: Use Google Scholar and ProQuest Central and ProQuest EBook Central and use "Climate Change in Southeast Asia." For the books look at Chapters in the books on Vietnam and Thailand.
______________________________________________________________________________________
6. Indira Gandhi (India) and Benazir Bhutto (Pakistan)
Search Terms: "Indira Gandhi" and "Benazir Bhutto" or "Indo-Pakistani War 1971" or "The Third Indo-Pakistani War" or "Indo-Pakistani summits"
Strategy: Good book in ProQuest Ebook Central database - use the search term: "Third Indo-Pakistani War" to locate it. The title is India and Pakistan : Continued Conflict or Cooperation? Chapter 4.
Strategy: Good articles in ProQuest Central database and JSTOR database using "Indo-Pakistani Conflict"
________________________________________________________________________________________
7. Afghan women after the Taliban take-over in 2021
Search Terms: Women and Afghanistan and Taliban; you can add "gender apartheid" - limit publication to the Past Year
Strategy: Good articles in World History in Context limit to published in the past year.
Strategy: Use ProQuest Central database - limit to past year - LIMIT to Journal Articles and Magazines for deeper analysis
________________________________________________________________________________________
8. Impact of British partition of India
Search Terms: "Partition of India" or "Indian Independence Act 1947"
Strategy: Use Global Issues in Context database - search "India Gains Independence from Great Britain 1947"
Strategy: Use ProQuest EBook Central database and use THIS CHAPTER from Shameful Flight: The British Empire in India
________________________________________________________________________________________
9. International impact of Korean popular culture such as KPop and the show Squid Game
Search Terms: "Korean Pop Culture" and "United States" or "Global Impact" "Transnational Korea" and "United States" or "Korean Pop Culture" and "Squid Games"
Strategy: Use ProQuest Central database to search for articles using "Korean Pop Culture" and United States" or KPop and United States or "Squid Games and United States" - look at Journal Articles and Magazine Articles - also try Google Scholar for articles
